Main content of the website

  • font sizeA
  • A
  • A

2021 Election

The next municipal general election will occur on October 18, 2021. The County will also be responsible for several school board elections, a senate election, and other provincially mandated referendum questions. 

For residents of the County interested in running for municipal office, we have prepared a Candidate Briefing Package to provide some background on the County and the process the election and nominations take.

Nominations are now open.

Click here to access the candidate package. 

Click here for the Nomination Form.

Click here for the Candidate Information Form.

For comprehensive information on local elections, we encourage people to visit the website of Alberta Municipal Affairs, at

Please view the menus below for more information on the 2021 Election:

Notice of Election Day for Office of Councillor, six electoral divisions here.

Notice of Election Day for School Trustee for Buffalo Trail Public Schools Regional Division No. 28 here.

Elk Island Public School Trustee - Randy Footz - Incumbent/Acclaimed

Elk Island Catholic School Trustee - Theresa Makowecki - Incumbent/Acclaimed

Buffalo Trail Public Schools Regional Division No. 28 School Trustee Election on October 18, 2021 for Ward 1 in the County of Minburn.

Ward 1 is that part of the County of Minburn lying east of the road running south to north from between Sections 15 and 16, Range 12, Township 50 to between Sections 2 and 3, Range 12, Township 53.

2021 School Trustee Candidates are:

Rose Gorniak

Kara Jackson

Elizabeth Myhovich


Access the school district map here.

Notice of Advance Vote for Office of Councillor, six electoral divisions here.

Notice of Advance Vote for School Trustee for Buffalo Trail Public Schools Regional Division No. 28 here.

A person may file a nomination to become a candidate for the 2021 municipal election which is to be held on October 18, 2021, within the period beginning January 1, 2021, ending at 12 noon on nomination day, September 20, 2021. 

Nominations for the election of candidates in the County of Minburn No. 27 will be received at the County of Minburn Administration office between the hours of 8:30 a.m. to 12:00 noon and 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday to Friday excluding statutory holidays.  

Candidates must have their nomination papers filed by 12:00 noon on nomination day, September 20, 2021, four (4) weeks prior to Election Day.

The list of County of Minburn candidates who have filed their nomination papers to run in the 2021 municipal election can be viewed below. A final official list of candidates will be available after nomination day, September 20, 2021.

A person may request to examine the filed nomination papers during regular business hours and in the presence of the returning officer.

January 1, 2021Nomination period opens
September 20, 2021 at 12:00 p.m.Nomination period closes
September 21, 2021 at 12:00 p.m. Nomination withdrawal deadline
October 13, 2021Advance voting day
October 18, 2021 from 10:00 am to 8:00 p.m.Election day
October 22, 2021 at 12:00 p.m.Official election results announced
November 8, 2021Last day to apply for a Judicial recount

Official Candidates List here.

2017 Election Results:

1Joseph NafzigerNN89
1Richard WagnerYY105
2Eric AndersonYY88
2Derek SaskiwNN69
3Roger KoniecznyYYAcclaimed
4Emil DmytriwNN59
4Dennis DurrerNN61
4Clifford WowdziaNY95
5Tara KuzioYYAcclaimed
6Greg MuzechkaNN78
6Carl OgrodnickYY140
7David MelenkaYYAcclaimed

2013 Election Results:

1Richard WagnerYYAcclaimed
2Eric AndersonYYAcclaimed
3Roger KoniecznyYYAcclaimed
4Marcel BortnickNN56
4David RattrayYY131
5Tara KuzioNY148
5Barry McCartyNN89
6Brian LitwinNN100
6Carl OgrodnickYY145
7David MelenkaYYAcclaimed

According to Section 47 of the Local Authorities Election Act

A person is eligible to vote in an election held pursuant to this Act if the person:

  • is at least 18 years old;
  • is a Canadian citizen;
  • resides in Alberta and the person's place of residence is located in the local jurisdiction on election day.

An elector is eligible to vote only at the voting station for the voting subdivision in which the elector's place of residence is located on election day.

Click the link for more information: Voter ID Requirements 

Advance Vote Voting Stations:

1, 2, and 3Mannville Recreation Centre
2, 3, 4, and 5Innisfree Seniors Centre
4, 5, 6, and 7Vegreville Elks Hall

Election Day Voting Stations (if required):

1Mannville Recreation Centre
Minburn Seniors Centre
2Innisfree Seniors Centre
Minburn Seniors Centre
3Mannville Recreation Centre
Chailey Community Centre
4Lavoy Community Hall
Buchach Community Centre
Vegreville Elks Hall
5Lavoy Community Hall
Ranfurly Recreation Hall
6Vegreville Elks Hall
Imperial Community Hall
7Vegreville Elks Hall
Warwick Community Hall

A permit is not required for posting election signs along County roads as long as the sign does not exceed 32.0 ftand is removed within 15 days following the election.

Guidelines for election signs on Provincial Highways can be found here: 

Trudy Shukalak

Returning Officer

Phone: 780-632-2082 ext. 1112