The County of Minburn is situated in the parkland area east of Edmonton. It straddles the Yellowhead Trans Canada Highway 16 and is headquartered in Vegreville. Consisting of 37 townships, it spans an area of approximately 55 miles east to west, and 30 miles north to south.

The County offers residents a relaxed, yet vibrant, lifestyle as a result of both urban and rural influences. Two major centres–Vegreville in the west and Mannville in the east–and the smaller communities spread throughout the County ensure an availability of supplies and services.

The County of Minburn is THE place to establish a new business or expand an existing business. There are fully-serviced industrial parks and prime downtown office space. Transportation is never a problem, since the County is a natural centre for road, railway and air traffic. It is situated one hour from either Edmonton or the Saskatchewan border.

There are various tourist attractions throughout the County. The most notable is the “Pysanka”, the world’s largest Ukrainian easter egg, which is located in Vegreville. The County is also a tourist destination, given its proximity to the Yellowhead Trans Canada Highway. Part of the Kalyna Country Tourism Zone, the County prides itself with fine recreational opportunites, including Wapasu Lake Conservancy Project and the International Rotary Peace Park. In addition, the County of Minburn’s excellent leisure facilities attract major sports tournaments. These facilities encourage family participation and allow for year-round recreation programs. In addition to organized recreation, the County offers a diverse outdoor experience at its campgrounds, picnic sites and parks.

The Yellowhead Trans Canada Highway and the network of high-quality regional roads ensure all residents easy access to the County’s two hospitals. The County is also covered by two health units: East Central Health (Vegreville) and Community Health (Minburn-Vermilion).

Along with staff at the main County office in Vegreville, public service employees are also located in Vegreville, Lavoy, Innisfree and Mannville. Seven elected divisional Councillors direct the provision of municipal services. The County has put an emphasis on developing an infrastructure that is poised for future growth and dedicated to providing services to all its citizens.


The County of Minburn No. 27 moved into its Administrative Complex in 1991. This building–acquired from the provincial government [old courthouse – 1930] and renovated–preserves the historic link to the past.