Historically, fire protection for County residents was provided by two fire cooperatives, the Mannville/Innisfree Rural Fire Cooperative and the Vegreville Rural Fire Protection Association. These cooperatives collected fees from land owners and received operating grants from the County of Minburn for purchasing apparatus and paying fire fighters for responding. The Mannville/Innisfree Rural Fire Cooperative disbanded in 2006 and the County assumed control of fire protection in the eastern portion of the County on January 1st, 2006. The Vegreville Rural Fire Protection Association disbanded in 2007 and the County assumed control of fire protection in the western portion of the County on March 1st, 2007.

Fire Protection for County residents is provided by the three fire departments operating within the boundaries of the County of Minburn No.27 (see map). These three departments are the Vegreville Fire Department, the Innisfree Fire Department and the Mannville Fire Department. The three departments are contracted through Fire Service Agreements to provide protection within the County.

Fire Districts